Skrap Dawg’s “Breath of Fresh Air” Album Review

Skrap D.A.W.G.'s latest AlbumBREATH OF FRESH AIR

In the words of Lauren Hill, “Hey yo…hip hop, started out in the heart”, well that’s exactly what this album represents…the heart of hip hop. Influenced by legendary greats such as…2pac, Biggie, Jay-z and Scarface, Skrap Dawg brings something to the forefront that has been suspect for a while now….INTELLIGENCE, HEART AND SUBSTANCE. This album definitely embodies crafty street tales, prolific storytelling and music that just makes you feel good all at the same time. Breath of Fresh Air is the type of album that’s in a league of its own. To better understand the concept of the Breath of fresh Air project, let’s examine  that phrase for a second. It’s something New, Refreshing, Original, Timeless, A second wind, classic and last but not least, Breath taking! This is a Album that twenty years from now, you would still feel good about purchasing. I have to be honest here, when I first heard about all the hoopla surrounding Skrap Dawg and the Breath of fresh Air project, I thought “oh boy….here goes another southern artist running off at the mouth but my, my, my was I wrong. This guy Skrap is everything he professes to be, he has the super talent and ability to match his cocky confident swagger, he also has the image and sharp business skills as well. You know every so often, we’re bless with an artist of this magnitude, one that arises from the ashes of poverty, abandonment, abuse, near death experiences and being a product of the streets…to someone who’s  able to give us hope and strength through his musical talents. I know some might say well, let’s hold up on all the praise and see if he can continue to drop albums of this magnitude, well after hearing such songs as “They wanna know”…where he spits “They wanna sign a n*gga to a deal, I aint bucking / unless you talking bout a couple million or sumthing / add 4 moe on top of that, then give me / six mill up front, and I’m worth every penny”. Also the banging street anthem entitled ”It’s on me”, where he states: “I use-to be sick wit it, in the streets / but now-a-days I’’m sorta sick wit it, wit a beat.” This album has classic written all over it. The songs “Already” and “Rep my city” are definitely H-town certified, while joints such as “OMG” and “So sick wit it”…where Skrap delivers breath taking lines like, “I’m living proof there’s more than just lil wayne / cause even tho we might share the same aim / we both different, we don’t have the same brain / he’s out to prove he’s the best MC / while I, am out to prove all the BEST LIVE IN ME…I’M SICK WIT IT!” The album also showcases some of the best storytelling I have heard in while on songs like “Still here”, where he talks about the lost of his cousin and new born daughter and “Take my hand”, where he talks about a friend of his caught up in an abusive relationship. The album gets better with what I believe the anthem of the year is….”Why She Wanna Stick Me For My Paper”, here Skrap calls out certain chics that abuses the child support system. But what really makes the song is it’s surprise ending. Oh, and I can’t forget to mention the “FOOD FOR THOUGHTS” (all of them). I’ve never heard anything like that before, if “Jazz Hop” is the new genre in music, then I’m it’s number one fan. Skrap then ends the album with arguably one of the best arranged, intelligently written and most heart touching songs I have ever heard in “Precious Lord”. All in all, this album belongs right up there with the  greatest albums of all time. To quote something Skrap said on the title track  “Breath of fresh Air”, “…brace yourselves…this is only the beginning.” As far as I’m concern, this is one of the best albums I have heard and I love all types of music. It is definitely a historical master piece that deserves all the praise it receives, and since this is only the beginning as Skrap declares, this is an artist you might wanna keep on your radar, cause he is certainly a force to be reckon with!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Skrap Dawg’s “Breath of Fresh Air” Album Review”

  1. Larry Says:

    Breath Of fresh air indeed. Nice album.

Leave a comment